top of page
  • Writer's pictureNero di Venere

Airbrush and Watercolour Portrait

Updated: Oct 29, 2021


Hello Artists ;)

How are you ?

I wish you the best, always :)

Do you still be creative ? awesome ! :)


Today I'd like to share with you another artwork, and this time I mixed airbrush and watercolour techniques.

Yep, I like to mixing techniques:)


I did the portrait in airbrush, and then I used bombay ink made by Dr Ph Martins, they are amazing in the airbrush, but please pay attention.

If the you let the ink dry into the airbrush, you'll get a problem, because the colours have a really strong medium, and when dry, basically there is no way to remove or clean it.

If you use Acrylics or watercolour, you can quite easy clean it, but those ink are totally different, so please don't leave the airbrush with ink inside, and clean it constantly.

I used traditional watercolour painting for the background, wet on wet techniques and usually my favourite brand are Schmincke and M.Graham, tubes

About the paper I decided to use, as usual 100% cotton made by Arches, cold pressed, and I quite like use rough texture surface.

Talking about airbrush? well, in my opinion, should better use a hot pressed paper, because is more smooth and flat.

Personally I definitely prefer use a really rough textured paper.

I really hope you will enjoy this artwork and please for any question, leave a comment or contact me.

find me on my Official Website, or on my Youtube channel



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page