top of page
  • Writer's pictureNero di Venere

Sketching with Fountain Pen (and video review)

Updated: Oct 29, 2021


Hello Artists ! How are you ?

Are you ready, today to sketching with fountain pen ?


Yes! today I want to share with you my experience about sketching and drawing with a fountain pen, and also a review of a wordsworth&black, and the one I've got right here, and is a medium size nib.

Of course that tool is made for writing and calligraphy, but i realised that's really good for illustration and artwork as well


Since 1996 i used to draw a nib pen with kina or waterproof ink, but is a little bit annoying to deep the nib pen in the ink pot every 2 minutes.... so I found this solution really comfortable.

Let me say, it's actually a little bit different sketching and drawing with a nib pen compare to a fountain pen, but there is pro and cons in any case.

For example with the fountain pen you can not change the nib, so you need to get maybe 3/4 of them in different size (I've got 3 Fountian Pen, medium, fine, and extrafine) but of course you can sketch and draw for hours without finish the ink in the middle of a line ;)


In this video down below I will show you how I moved to sketching and drawing with a fountain pen, and also how I used it in combination with watercolor.

By the way, remember you can not use any ink for this tool, and I found a really good one 100% waterproof, called "carbon ink".

So, another really important "ads" : if you like to try to use a combination Fountain Pen + watercolor, make sure the ink into the pen is totally waterproof, because if you go over with water to paint in watercolor, and the ink is not 100% waterproof, you'll get a big messy muddy result on paper.

See you soon and as usual thank you to support me and follow me

please che my Official Website




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page